$1 million in financing awarded during the Start-up Pitch Contest at the 2019 Canada FinTech Forum

Montréal, Quebec, October 22nd, 2019 – Nine start-ups, eight of them Canadian, have been chosen among 97 international start-ups to present their innovative solutions during Finance Montréal’s Canada FinTech Forum, the country’s largest FinTech gathering.

The finalists are Aya Payments, Conquest Planning, Elefant, Flare Systems, FlexPay, Lexo, Wealthscope, Willful and Tiptap.

The biggest winner of the competition is Conquest Planning, as they won the $1 million financing offer from Portag3 Ventures.

Flare Systems won the $25,000 jury prize awarded by Finance Montréal. The public prize went to Tiptap, which will receive $5,000 in rent from Station Fintech Montréal, as well as $5,000 in legal services from McCarthy Tétrault.

In order to support local FinTech start-ups active in either asset management, capital markets or financial analysis, CFA Montréal awarded a $5,000 grant to Wilo, their start-up of choice.

« Portag3 Ventures is dedicated to backing the next generation of innovative, global financial services companies working to benefit all consumers. The Canada FinTech Forum’s Start-up Pitch Contest helps us to identify and support some of tomorrow’s FinTech leaders », said Paul Desmarais III, Chairman and CEO of Sagard Holdings, Executive Chairman and Co-Founder of Portag3 Ventures, and Chairman and Co-Founder of Diagram. « Congratulations to all the start-ups that presented, and especially the winners! »

« Since its inception in 2016, the contest has enabled several promising start-ups to join the FinTech ecosystem and gather momentum. The visibility and financial support they receive from the contest allow them to accelerate the development of their business. Thank you to the participants, jury members and our partners for the success of this edition of the contest. », said Matthieu Cardinal, Finance Montréal’s Vice President of FinTech Development and Corporate Affairs and President of the FinTech Forum Organising Committee.

The finalists presented to a panel of judges made up of industry leaders: Alex Laverdière, Director, Venture Capital, Investissement Québec; Anna Garcia, Co-Founder & Partner, Runway Venture Partners; Anthony Rjeily, EY, Partner – National Practice Leader Digital Transformation and Innovation; David Sica, Partner, Nyca Partners; Peter Misek, Co-Founder & Partner, Framework Venture Partners; Stephanie

Choo, Partner, Head of Investments, Portag3 Ventures; Vishy Venugopalan, Senior Vice President, Venture Investing, Citi Ventures.

Back to news list